To unfollow, just hover your mouse over the Follow button and select Unfollow [their name].
However, if you’re hardly concerned about losing a few Facebook friends or if it’s time for your annual purge, you can jump right to the stealthy unfriend option without letting anyone know they’ve been removed.
If I unfollow a friend on Facebook, will they get notified if I follow them again?
Yes, as far advise I’m aware, if you follow someone you’ve previously unfollowed they will get a notification. In the same way as if you’d followed them for the first time.
That said, you can always act stupid. Along the lines of, “Oh, I don’t know how that happened but once I realised ‘my mistake’ I just wanted to correct it.”
Few people would have a problem with that I suspect. And by acting stupid you avoid causing any offence.
Read Also: How to Poke On Facebook